Belize - Belize News - - Great Belize Productions - Belize Breaking News
Home » Sports » National Elite Basketball League and the Premier League of Belize
Feb 10, 2014

National Elite Basketball League and the Premier League of Belize

Good Evening, I’m James Adderley and this is Sports Monday.


We take you immediately inside the F.F.B. Stadium at Capital City where the Belmopan Bandits hosted FC Belize for game II of the Belikin Cup Championship series. A large crowd had gathered for this do or die matchup after FC Belize had held the Bandits to a 1-1 stalemate last week at the MCC Grounds in Game I of the PLB finals. The 1st good look at goal comes Belmopan’s way when super striker Deon McCauley musses on this shot attempt. The ball does reach David Madrid who should have done better with the scoring chance. It’s more Bandits at work when Dennis Serano lets loose the left foot from on top the 18 and he isn’t too far off from opening the scoreboard. In the early going, the Belmopan Team has established dominance in the ballgame and when Erick Rodriguez finds David Madrid inside the box, the forward fails to convert despite getting 2 stabs at it.

37 minutes in, Denmark Casey centers into the danger zone, David Trapp shoulders the ball to Deon McCauley and the strikers left foot launch crashes into the net to give Belmopan Bandits a 1-zip. FC Belize howls in protest proclaiming Trapp had fouled the ball but Referee Amir Castillo remained unconvinced and the goal is counted as the scoreboard opens. This gets FC Belize truly motivated. 2 minutes later, Stephen Baizar launches this set piece into the box. Michael Hernandez keeps it alive to Mark Leslie who smacks it into the goal to tie the ballgame at 1 apiece. As a result, emotions begin to run high. Jorge Alexman takes down Dennis Serano, Erick Rodriguez wreaks vengeance for his teammate, Jarret Davis, and Mark Leslie responds in kind. Davis is the only player to get a yellow card out of the melee and has to be restrained. We’re in the final minute of first half when trio tries to hook up with McCauley instead, he finds an unmarked Denmark Casey who gives Belmopan Bandits a 2-1 lead to take into the locker room.

So we go to 2nd half and Mark Grant intentionally takes down David Trapp to earn his 2nd yellow card of the match for which his presence on the field is terminated. Things were never the same for FC Belize after that. This attempted clearance by Stephen Baizar sees him inadvertently hand the ball – Referee Castillo rules penalty. The Bandits send Deon McCauley to convert and he finds the near corner to beat Glenford Chimilio for the 3 – 1 lead at the 67th minute. Two minutes later David Madrid punches this ball to Deon McCauley whose left foot volley gives Belmopan a 4 – 1 margin. With the last trick at the 71st minute McCauley outruns the FC defense and then displays left control by raising the ball over his line, for his 4th goal of the match. Belmopan Bandits of on to win the match 5 to 1 and take the 2014 Belikin Cup title in a 6 – 2 aggregate and we say congratulations. Deon McCauley was voted Most Valuable Player of the Playoffs and here he is receiving his award from F.F.B. President Ruperto Vicente.

Turning to the Basketball scene, we take you inside the opening night in the National Elite Basketball League at the Big Birds Isle on Friday as Smart No Limit hosted the red-hot San Pedro Tigersharks. Elle Marie gave us her rendition of the national anthem. While Isaac John Rhys the league’s commissioner gave the opening address. Minster of Sports, Herman Longsworth took the mike to pledge governments support to the elite tournament. At tip off time it is 6’ 8” Lennox Cayetano of San Pedro jumping against No Limit 6” 3” Andrew Ortiz.

The 1st field goal of the ballgame comes when Winston Pratt lead Darwin Leslie to the hoop for the easy layup. No Limit responds as Kevin Lorenzo deals to Gregg Rudon who beats Ashton Edward off the dribble and banks it off the glass for a 2 of his 12 points. Rudon would also record 6 assist to lead his team in this statistical category.

No Limit then takes a 3 point lead when Lincey Lopez deals to Andrew Ortiz who slams it for 2. Ortiz would prove to be the best player for his team tonight leading them with a 2 doubles of 23 points and 11 rebounds. Jamal Kelly fars this ball out of the hands of Erwin Orosco, Winston Pratt picks it up and goes all the way for the 2 points. At the end of the 1st quarter No Limit leads 20 to 19 and it would be their last lead of the night. One of the reasons would be Ashton Edwards who sinks the triple here – he would put up 12 points tonight. The play of Brandon Rogers would keep the Belize City team in the hunt as he picks up this rebound to go glass for 2. Rogers would strike for 15 points. Brandon Rogers would make it a 38 – 35 deficit for his team with this nice move to end 1st half play.

To start the 3rd, Tyrone Edwards strikes for 3 as the Tigersharks forge ahead. Winston Pratt then gets busy and shows good hang time to score 2 points off the glass. Off the miss by Linden Galvez, Winston Pratt snares the rebound and goes glass for 2 – is fouled and would complete the 3 point play. Folks No Limit had no answer for Winston Pratt who hit 11 of 15 free throws, 8 of 12 field goals and would dish out 5 assist and pull 6 board as he struck for the game high of 27 points. The san Pedro Tigersharks go on to star No Limit 83 to 78 in the opening. In other action around the League, Belmopan Bandits stopped Running Rebels 79 to 69. Cayo Western Ballaz edged Corozal Heat 78 – 76. While the Dangriga Warriors and Toledo Diplomats were rained out. Folks, all weather venues are mandatory if this league is to survive. Looking ahead, Fridays schedule finds Belmopan Bandits at Dangriga Culture Warriors. Belize City No Limit travels to Corozal Heats and on Saturday, Cayo Western Ballaz travel to Orange Walk Running Rebels and San Pedro Tigersharks head to Toledo Diplomats.

In cycling news, the weekend warriors series race 2 travelled from Rockville Junction to Armenia Village for 38 miles and it’s a compact pelathon on the way back. However, going to the tape, the expected fragmentation occurred and its Jose Moguel of Stationary House/Medina’s Jewelry in full command as he takes top honors in a time of 2 hours 3 mins 15 seconds. Kent Gabourel of megabytes who mounted a gallant effort had to settle for 2nd, Warren Coye of Santino’s pulled up 3rd, Windell Williams of Smart took 4th place while Beat Brunchwiler rounds out the top 5. In the B Class it was Nehru Gilharry of Santino’s winning the ride in 2 hours 7 mins 40 seconds edging out his teammate Jum Scott while Andrew Ordonez of Digicell 4G had to settle for 3rd place. meanwhile, the C Class which travelled from Democracia to Armenia for 28 miles was taken by Rudolfo Ugarte of big blade cycling in 1 hour 31 mins 20 seconds while Louis Usher and Erickson Lamb finished 2nd and 3rd respectively.  In othe4r cycling news, the 19th running of the Annual Digicell Cycling Classic this Sunday. We caught up with the Cycling Federation of Belize race promoter Kwame Scott.


Jah over all, I’m James Adderley.

Viewers please note: This Internet newscast is a verbatim transcript of our evening television newscast. Where speakers use Kriol, we attempt to faithfully reproduce the quotes using a standard spelling system.

Advertise Here

You must be logged in to post a comment Login