Belize - Belize News - - Great Belize Productions - Belize Breaking News
Home » Featured, Miscellaneous, People & Places » The members of the integrity commission
Feb 5, 2014

The members of the integrity commission


Dean Barrow

Last Tuesday, former FIU director Marilyn Williams was appointed as the new chair of the Integrity Commission, after approximately four years of the agency being defunct.  The Prime Minister told us today that they are serious about activating the Commission, and members have already been selected. The appointments will be announced at the sitting of the Senate on Thursday.


Prime Minister Dean Barrow

“You’ll get it tomorrow. The Senate has to past a motion constituting the commission and I fully expect that that will be on the agenda for tomorrow’s meeting of the Senate.”


Mike Rudon

“Sir can you give us an idea of who has been considered for the Commission?”


Dean Barrow

“Well remember how this thing works. There are two members that in effect belong to the Opposition. I appoint, but I have to get the concurrence of the Opposition in two cases, which practically means that it is the Leader of the Opposition that selects those two. His two are Kevin Arthurs and Philip Zuniga; before we had had a problem with a chartered accountant. When we constituted the commission couple of years ago and we were ready to go, we discovered that we didn’t have a chartered accountant and that’s why we held back. And I concede right away that it is intolerable that we did not move soon enough thereafter to get chartered account. We now have a chartered accountant in the person of Mister Brett Feinstein. So Marilyn Williams is the chair, Brett Feinstein is on the commission, Steve Duncan; I can’t remember all the others. But everything will be forthcoming tomorrow at the Senate meeting.”


Joining Williams on the Commission are businessman Brett Feinstein of the Benny’s Group, bank manager Stephen Duncan, Armead Gabourel and Wilmot Simmons and for the Opposition, attorneys Senior Counsel Phillip Zuniga and Kevin Arthurs.  The Integrity Commission is tasked with taking delivery of all declarations being filed as they relate to the income, assets and liabilities of public figures.  Its function is to investigate complaints pertaining to non-compliance or violation of the Prevention of Corruption Act.

Viewers please note: This Internet newscast is a verbatim transcript of our evening television newscast. Where speakers use Kriol, we attempt to faithfully reproduce the quotes using a standard spelling system.

Advertise Here

3 Responses for “The members of the integrity commission”

  1. Joe Blank says:

    Another toothless, cosmetic tiger! Just enforce the laws currently in the books and stop the pappysho business.

  2. Ali BaBarrow, king of Belizean thieves says:

    Ali BaBarrow appoints his integrity commission.

    To speed things up, the reports for the next six months have been written, ready for rubber stamps.

    Here’s…. ALI.

    And they say Belizeans have no sense of humor.

  3. Ali BaBarrow, king of Belizean thieves says:

    BTW, love the beard.
    Really starting to look like your namesake, Ali Baba, who approves, I spoke with him today also.
    Better Belizit, all true just like you.


    Does anyone have any idea what the next government is going to look like?
    Is it going to be sweep it under the rug government.
    Look the other way government.
    Go after the criminals government.
    Fix the government government.
    Eliminate corruption government, hopefully not a repeat of the UDP.

    Hey Ali, are you going to be able to get the Benque Ambulance out hock? A couple passport sales should cover it. The guys over in Melchor might accept several blank passports on good faith someone at GOB will create the needed birth certificates.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login