Belize - Belize News - - Great Belize Productions - Belize Breaking News
Home » Politics » Unofficial election results of twenty-nine constituencies
Aug 28, 1998

Unofficial election results of twenty-nine constituencies

For those viewers who may have followed Thursday night’s results but were too elated or dejected to record the numbers we’ll run through them one time for the record. News Five’s Jacqueline Woods will do the honors for the two major parties.

The twenty-six constituencies won by the P.U.P. went as follows:

Caribbean Shores: Jose Coye 1,530 votes,

Manuel Esquivel 1,199

Freetown: Jorge Espat 1,276,

Marisa Quan 471

Pickstock: George Price 714,

Wilfred Elrington 613

Fort George: Said Musa 1,142,

Derek Aikman 380

Albert: Mark Espat 1,102,

Thomas Morisson 445

Collet: Remijio Montejo 1,290,

Faith Babb 802

Lake Independence: Cordel Hyde 2,422,

Hubert Elrington 1,059

Port Loyola: Dolores Balderamos Garcia 2,123,

Anthony Boots Martinez 1,422

Belize Rural North: Max Samuels 1,141,

Denton Belisle 1,012

Belize Rural Central: Ralph Fonseca 2,199,

Louis Sylvestre 757

Belize Rural South: Patty Arceo 1,378,

Manuel Heredia Jr. 1,027

Corozal North: Valdemar Castillo 1,793,

Guadalupe Longsworth 1,059

Corozal Bay: Vildo Marin 2,198,

Willard Levy 1,309

Corozal Southeast: Florencio Marin 2,259,

Eloy Navarro 1,114

Corozal Southwest: Gregorio Garcia 1,611,

Asterio Ortega 1,405

Orange Walk North: Servulo Baeza 2,133,

Alfredo Martinez 1,609

Orange Walk East: Dave Burgos 2,208,

Elodio Aragon 1,663

Orange Walk South: Salus Lizama 2,188,

Onesimo Pech 1,540

Orange Walk Central: Johnny Briceño 1,636,

Ruben Campos 808

Cayo North: Ainslie Leslie 2,357,

Salvador Fernandez 2,273

Cayo Central: Daniel Silva Jr. 2,013,

Eduardo Juan 1,685

Cayo South: Agripino Cawich 2,827,

John Saldivar 1,351

Stann Creek West: Henry Canton 1,819,

Melvin Hulse Jr. 1,139

Dangriga: Theodore Aranda 1,598,

Russell Garcia 1,171

Toledo East: Michael Espat 2,278,

Ryan Pennel 1,603

Toledo West: Marcial Mes 2,138,

Dennis Usher 1,096

The three constituencies that went top the U.D.P. are as follows:

Queen’s Square: Dean Barrow 872,

Dickie Bradley 825

Mesopotamia: Michael Finnegan 813,

Ray Lightburn 608

Cayo West: Erwin Contreras 1,537,

Amin Hegar 1,527

As has become the norm in Belizean elections, no third party or independent candidate was a factor in Thursday’s voting. Cayo South’s “Miley” Garcia did the best of the also-rans, but even he failed to score ten percent of the vote.

Viewers please note: This Internet newscast is a verbatim transcript of our evening television newscast. Where speakers use Kriol, we attempt to faithfully reproduce the quotes using a standard spelling system.

Advertise Here

You must be logged in to post a comment Login