Belize - Belize News - - Great Belize Productions - Belize Breaking News
Home » Agriculture, Economy, Environment, People & Places » The Winners of the Belize National Tourism Awards 2022
Oct 25, 2022

The Winners of the Belize National Tourism Awards 2022

On Saturday night inside the Caribbean Motors Showroom, stakeholders in the tourism industry gathered for a night of recognition, as the Belize Tourism Board hosted its annual tourism awards.  The event is held to honour those who provide excellent service in the hospitality and tourism industry under ten different categories. News Five’s Duane Moody reports.


Duane Moody, Reporting

What better way to celebrate the rebounding of Belize’s tourism industry, which was hard hit by the COVID-19 pandemic, than by honouring those stakeholders who were instrumental in maintaining Belize as a preferred destination for travellers. That’s what the 2022 Belize National Tourism Awards did – it recognized excellence in service in several categories.


Hotel of the Year was captured by Sleeping Giant Rainforest Lodge.


Ian Lizarraga

Ian Lizarraga, Sleeping Giant Rainforest Lodge

“I’ve never been to a property like this in my life where river, jungle. It is bordered by a eighteen thousand acre nature reserve. It has a cave that rivals the ATM caves on site. It has waterfalls, it has everything. Incredibly diverse, allowing guests to pay for the level of experience by the accommodations that they chose.”


Restaurant of the Year went to Elvi’s Kitchen.


Jennie Staines

Jennie Staines, Chef, Elvi’s Kitchen

“I’ve been the person in charge from when I was twenty-five, when they put the crown on my head. Every day when I come into work, I am so proud of what I do and I do it with the best of my ability and when I send a plate out, it will be if I sit down and eat it, I will enjoy it. I will never give a customer something that personally I wouldn’t enjoy.”


Site of the Year went to the Blue Hole Natural Monument


Amanda Burgos

Amanda Burgos, Executive Director, Belize Audubon Society

“The Blue Hole Natural Monument is a one of a kind location. It is the furthest east that you can get in the Belizean territory. It is geologically special in that it is a sinkhole or a cenote in the middle of the Lighthouse Reef Atoll. And more so than the geography and its natural features, Blue Hole is special to Belizeans. Belizeans identify with the Blue Hole; they see it as part of our cultural identity.”


Meanwhile, Cultural Experience of the year went to the San Antonio Women’s Cooperative that has been working in the preservation of the Maya Yucatec cultural heritage.


Timothea Mesh

Timothea Mesh, San Antonio Women’s Cooperative

“The San Antonio Women’s Cooperative saw the need in preserving culture because it was something that was getting lost and we wanted to revive the culture, the language that was getting lost. So when you come here, we will teach you about corn grinding and tortilla making. You will be having a little taste of the corn porridge and you will be participating with us.”


Tour Operator of the Year went to Belize Dive Adventures in San Pedro, and the Tour Guide for 2022 was dive master Sherman Cain of Blue Heaven Dives and Tours in San Pedro.


Sherman Cain

Sherman Cain, Tour Guide of the Year

“At the dive shop here, each one of our staff, we always try to fulfil all of our guests needs so we try to make it a very memorable one; that they want to come back here – not to our shop, but to Belize itself.”


Other awards include green champion award, which went to Turneffe Flats Resort. Om Shanti Belize Yoga and Wellness Center and School won Health and Wellness Provider of the Year.  And Frontline Person of the Year went to Charlenne Young from Blu Zen on northern Caye Caulker. During her address, B.T.B.’s Marketing Director Michelle Bowers-Flowers said it best:


Michelle Bowers-Flowers

Michelle Bowers-Flowers, Marketing Director, Belize Tourism Board

“To be the best requires going above and beyond. It requires dedication, hard work, passion, innovation and vision and tonight, we have seen these values exemplified by our award winners. To our winners and nominees, congratulations on a job well done. Continue to be the inspiration that you are to our industry.”


Sharon Matola was given a posthumous award, John Grief and Steven Schulte of Tropic Air were given Lifetime Achievement Awards. Duane Moody for News Five.

Viewers please note: This Internet newscast is a verbatim transcript of our evening television newscast. Where speakers use Kriol, we attempt to faithfully reproduce the quotes using a standard spelling system.

Advertise Here

Comments are closed