Belize - Belize News - - Great Belize Productions - Belize Breaking News
Home » Miscellaneous, People & Places » A Media Award Competition
Jan 8, 2021

A Media Award Competition

They just released the latest crime statistics for 2020. Now the Belize Crime Observatory wants to recognize outstanding journalists. The media competition is an extension of a data training workshop that the organization held last February. According to Adele Ramos, the Technical Coordinator of the B.C.O., the purpose is to recognize journalists for their work and use of statistical crime data. She shares the details.


Adele Ramos

Adele Ramos, Technical Coordinator, BCO

“It has really been crafted to recognize the work of journalists here in Belize and the role of the media is very critical in the scheme of things. We talk of a data management cycle and that starts from the gathering of information from the gathering of information by the different entities,  the Belize Police Department; the National Forensic Science Service; the Ministry of Health; Central Prison; the Judiciary and all these different entities. But then what happens to that information? You take that information and you basically create information products – the media, too, create information products and sometimes it is not just the viewing audience or the listening audience that use it. Your pieces reach far and wide, even outside of Belize. It has impact. So we want to recognize that especially the people who have been doing it well, doing it meticulously and looking at different dimensions in a way that not only sensitizes the public but also raises awareness of some of the emerging issues, for example, during COVID the whole issue of gender-based violence and also to put the spotlight on some of the issues that our decision makers and policy makers need to pay attention to. So, it is not only reporting just because you want to put the news out there but because you want to be a part of that change and we need to appreciate that role of the media a lot more – the media as a stakeholder. So, this is also to incentivize the media to raise the bar for themselves.”


The competition categories are the best news story, best feature story, best news series, and best documentary.  Submissions must be made by January thirty-first, and the B.C.O. will announce the winner on March first.

Viewers please note: This Internet newscast is a verbatim transcript of our evening television newscast. Where speakers use Kriol, we attempt to faithfully reproduce the quotes using a standard spelling system.

Advertise Here

Comments are closed