Belize - Belize News - - Great Belize Productions - Belize Breaking News
Home » Featured, People & Places, Politics » U.D.P. Forms Shadow Cabinet
Dec 9, 2020

U.D.P. Forms Shadow Cabinet

The United Democratic Party has been radio silent since its devastating loss at the polls on November eleventh, but it appears that its executive has been working quietly in the background to come up with a roster of shadow cabinet ministers.  This afternoon, Opposition Leader Patrick Faber introduced several persons, including four area representatives, who will be observing the functions of the respective ministers in the Briceño cabinet.


Patrick Faber

Patrick Faber, Leader of the Opposition

“We begin with the shadowing the prime minister, the Honorable John Briceno who is the Prime Minister and Minister of Finance and Economic Development .  He’s assisted by Honorable Mike Espat and Honorable Christopher Coye.  Shadowing those portfolios will be myself as the Leader of the Opposition, Mr. Stephen Duncan will assist me in shadowing for Finance.  The Honorable Tracy Panton will shadow for Economic Development and Investment.  Moving on to the Deputy Prime Minister, the Honorable Cordel Hyde who is the Minister of Natural Resources, Petroleum and Mining, he is assisted by the Honorable Ramiro Ramirez.  The UDP’s deputy leader, the Honorable Hugo Patt will shadow these portfolios.  He will likewise shadow the portfolio of Honorable Abelardo Mai in Agriculture, Food Security and Enterprise.  The portfolio of Public Utilities and Logistics currently held by the Honorable Rodwell Ferguson will be shadowed by our deputy leader Ms. Beverly Williams and later on you will see that there is something in addition to what is there.  Several of the ministries we have segmented to have various different people, one or two persons shadowing so it is not as precise and concise as the prime minister has his cabinet and that is because we have that luxury, he does not.”


Other shadow ministers include Orson Elrington, Earth Lopez, Shyne Barrow, Aldo Salazar, Francis Humphreys, Lisbeth Novelo, Elodio Aragon Junior and Doctor Omar Figueroa.

Viewers please note: This Internet newscast is a verbatim transcript of our evening television newscast. Where speakers use Kriol, we attempt to faithfully reproduce the quotes using a standard spelling system.

Advertise Here

Comments are closed