Belize - Belize News - - Great Belize Productions - Belize Breaking News
Home » Featured, People & Places » Integrity Commission Appoints New Members
May 22, 2019

Integrity Commission Appoints New Members

Deshawn Arzu-Torres

The Integrity Commission has appointed new members to serve a two-year term retroactive to January first.  The seven-member taskforce is comprised of Armead Gabourel, Wilmot Simmons, Lisbeth Delgado, Nestor Vasquez, Claudet Grinage and Zoe Roberson-Zetina, and is chaired by Deshawn Arzu-Torres who was appointed on June first, 2018.  The Office of the Integrity Commission was established in accordance with Section Five of the first schedule of the Prevention of Corruption Act, number twenty-one of 2007.  The purpose of the commission is to investigate declared statements of assets and liabilities of persons in public life, particularly for elected officials.  At a previous sitting of upper parliament in March, senators had a go at discussing the role of the working group, as well as a need to expand the present list of individuals who are required to submit financial declarations.

Viewers please note: This Internet newscast is a verbatim transcript of our evening television newscast. Where speakers use Kriol, we attempt to faithfully reproduce the quotes using a standard spelling system.

Advertise Here

You must be logged in to post a comment Login