Belize - Belize News - - Great Belize Productions - Belize Breaking News
Home » Politics » New Senate sworn in
Feb 13, 2002

New Senate sworn in

A swearing in ceremony for the president of the Senate and eleven Senators took place today at the National Assembly Room in Belmopan. The ceremony marked the official opening of the sitting of the first session of the ninth Senate. Sworn in at the opening session are: President Sylvia Flores, Vice President Clara Zetina, along with Senators: Assad Shoman, Eamon Courtenay, Godfrey Smith, Dickie Bradley, Barry Bowen, Oscar Ayuso, Marilyn Williams, Maria Windsor, Fred Hunter Sr., and Margaret Ventura. According to the government press office, Monsignor Dorrick Wright, who had other pressing commitments will be sworn in at the next session. At the end of the ceremony, a number of bills were considered, such as the United Nations Enforcement of Resolution, the Money Laundering Prevention Bill, Custom and Excise Amendment Bill, Credit Union Bill and the Intoxication and Liquor License Bill. During the Senate meeting, motions approving the appointment of two new ambassadors, namely Alexis Rosado and Lawrence Sylvester were made.

Viewers please note: This Internet newscast is a verbatim transcript of our evening television newscast. Where speakers use Kriol, we attempt to faithfully reproduce the quotes using a standard spelling system.

Advertise Here

You must be logged in to post a comment Login