Belize - Belize News - - Great Belize Productions - Belize Breaking News
Home » Miscellaneous, People & Places, Politics » List of U.D.P Hopefuls is Out!
Jul 2, 2018

List of U.D.P Hopefuls is Out!

The United Democratic Party has released the names of sixty-six candidates who are seeking to become their party’s standard bearers for the thirty-one constituencies in the next general elections. We note that three sitting area representatives will be challenged and in other areas, there are as many as five aspirants. In the city, Prime Minister Dean Barrow won’t seek re-election and neither will party whip Michael Finnegan and ground commander Anthony “Boots” Martinez.  It means that the field is open for new faces.  Here is Hipolito Novelo with the list of U.D.P. hopefuls.


Hipolito Novelo, Reporting

Sixty-six persons have submitted applications with the hopes to represent the United Democratic Party for the next General Elections.

In Belize City, the Lake Independence and Fort George Divisions are the most contested. In Lake Independence, Hilbert Cutkelvin along with Cecil Jenkins, Jason Edwards and Diane Finnegan have all applied. Cutkelvin was first to submit his application on May, twenty-fifth, with Finnegan making a submission a few days later. The four candidates will have to defeat the sitting Area Representative Cordel Hyde if they want a seat inside the National Assembly.

For Fort George, Souad Assad Lindo, William Arthur Schnarr, Melvin Hewlett and interestingly, Mark King, have formally applied. King, who has had a rocky relationship with the U.D.P. made his application last week Friday. King was once elected to Lake Independence but later defeated by Cordel Hyde.

Shyne Barrow

The Prime Minister’s son and Music Ambassador Moses Shyne Barrow is trying his luck in the Mesopotamia area. He will go against former Belize City Councilor Bernard Q Pitts. Both are hoping to succeed Michael Finnegan, whose wife Dianne is running in Lake I.

In Freetown, Doctor Carla Barnett will face off against Orson Elrington and Fredy Cantillano. Barnett lost in the last general elections and Elrington has the support of all if not most of the executive in the division.

The Attorney General Michael Peyrefitte is running against former Belize City councilors, Dean Samuels and Philip Willoughby, to represent the people of Port Loyola and succeed Anthony ‘Boots’ Martinez who is retiring from electoral politics.  Denise Barrow, or ‘Sista B’ as many know her, will run in Queen Square uncontested with the full blessing of PM Barrow.

Tracy Panton

Darrell Bradley and Wilfred Elrington will run in the Caribbean Shores and Pickstock divisions respectively and will be unchallenged and so will Tracey Taegar Panton and Patrick Faber in the Alberts and Pickstock. But Tourism Minister Manuel Heredia of Belize Rural South will. Last week Friday Gary Grief submitted his application. Up north,   Yvette Torres, Denny Grijalva, and Evan Williams have applied and the victor will then challenge P.U.P. Leader John Briceño for the Orange Walk Central seat.

In Orange Walk North, Gapi Vega will not seek re-election; Homero Novelo and Eddie Mendez have also applied. Corozal South West Area Representative, Angel Campos is being challenged by Elvis Correa. Meanwhile, in Corozal South East, Anthony Herrera, Narciso Flores, and Evan Cowo have put their names in to contest the convention. Pablo Marin will remain unchallenged for Corozal Bay and so will Hugo Patt in Corozal North.

Orson Elrington

In the west, Ramon Aleman, Ralph Huang, Miguel Juan and Ramon Witz want to contest the convention to represent the people of Cayo South. John August Junior will face off against Earl Trapp and Salvador Fernandez for Cayo North East. The most contested seat for the U.D.P. is Stann Creek West. Six candidates have applied: Ivan Williams, Mateo Polanco, Ted McKoy, Nathan Young, Camelio Kal and Macario Augustin. There are five hopefuls for Toledo East, namely Robert Pennell Junior, Dennis Garbutt, Harriet Parham, Duwane Wagner and Rene Pennell. In Dangriga sitting Area Representative, Frank Papa Mena is being challenged by Howard Humphreys and Francis Marin.

After vetting of candidates, conventions will be scheduled. Reporting for News Five I am Hipolito Novelo.

Viewers please note: This Internet newscast is a verbatim transcript of our evening television newscast. Where speakers use Kriol, we attempt to faithfully reproduce the quotes using a standard spelling system.

Advertise Here

You must be logged in to post a comment Login