Belize - Belize News - - Great Belize Productions - Belize Breaking News
Home » Politics » U.D.P. names shadow Cabinet
Apr 2, 2003

U.D.P. names shadow Cabinet

Opposition Leader Dean Barrow promised it shortly after his party was defeated at the polls, and today the U.D.P. released the composition of its shadow Cabinet. Members of the group include all seven elected representatives, all three Senators, seven defeated candidates and one political newcomer. Each is assigned a specific portfolio, as follows.

Foreign Affairs: Honourable Dean Barrow

Natural Resources and Environment: Honourable Erwin Contreras

Commerce and Industry: Oscar Ayuso

Finance: Douglas Singh

Housing: Honourable Michael Finnegan

Health: Dr. George Gough

Education, Youth and Sports: Honourable Patrick Faber

Works: Honourable Gabriel Martinez

Transport and Communications: Miguel Urbina

Attorney General: Honourable Marcel Cardona

Human Development: Eden Martinez

Agriculture: Nemencio Acosta

Fisheries and Tourism: Honourable Manuel Heredia

Economic Development: John Saldivar

Home Affairs, Defence and Emergency: Diane Haylock

Public Service: Honourable Arturo Roches

Labour and Local Government: Honourable Anthony “Boots” Martinez

Investment and Foreign Trade: Honourable Ambrose Tillett

Members of the U.D.P. shadow Cabinet will, according to the release, monitor, critique and provide alternative policies for the Belizean people.

Viewers please note: This Internet newscast is a verbatim transcript of our evening television newscast. Where speakers use Kriol, we attempt to faithfully reproduce the quotes using a standard spelling system.

Advertise Here

You must be logged in to post a comment Login