Belize - Belize News - - Great Belize Productions - Belize Breaking News
Home » Sports » Sports Monday with James Adderley
Oct 6, 2014

Sports Monday with James Adderley

Good evening, I’m James Adderley and this is Sports Monday.


The 24th Women’s National Softball Championship reigned supreme insdie Roger’s Stadium yesterday. 7 teams had started the campaign but in money time, it was the Belize Bank Bull Dogs and Roaring Creek Grace Kennedy battling for the 2014 crown. We go to the top of the 2nd inning with Ashley Lucas facing Myralee Ho while Shadalee Ho looks to score from 3rd. Myralee hits to 1st base but is thrown out but Shadalee nevertheless scores the 1st run of the ballgame to give Grace Kennedy the 1-zip lead. In Grace Kennedy’s turn at bat, Marsha Will smashes Leandra Guy to left field with Nicole Arnold at 3rd base; the ball is caught but we have a 1-1 game at the completion. When Ashley Lucas stikes out, Sharine Reyes in the top of the 3rd, she retires to the side without a runner reaching 1st base. In the bottom of the 3rd wit hthe bases loaded, Ashley Lucas pinches this ball to the Grace Kennedy shortstop who mishandles the ball and Marsha Will makes it a 2-1 Bulldogs lead with the only run of the inning. Meanwhile, Ashley Lucas breezes through the 5th inning; Myralee Ho easy out. Shadalee Ho suffers the same fate against the right hander and this blast from Samatha Orellano is snared by a diving Lisa Jones for the 3rd out to preserve the 3-1 lead.

In the bottom of the 6th, Belize Bank Bulldogs break the game wide open. Lisa Jones double brings Sharette Vernon home all the way from 2nd. Ashley Lucas benefits from this errant throw to 1st base as Lisa Jones makes it a 5-1 Bulldog lead. Up steps the left hander, Nicole Arnold, whose hit to the outfield brings home Ashley Lucas. Pinch runner Miss Hilton replaces Nicole Arnold at 2nd. Miss Lucas then punches this ball to right field; the throw to 1st is errand and Hilton comes in to make it a 7-1 score. In the top of the 7th, Grace Kennedy would muster 2 runs, but the Belize Bank Bulldogs go on to post the 7-3 victory to claim 2014 Women’s National Softball Championship and we say congratulations. Belize Bank pitcher, Ashley Lucas, emerged with MVP honors and tie for most wins with Leandra Guy of Roaring Creek who got the most strikeouts. Lisa Jones took home the Best Batter Average of .638 and Shadalee Ho had the most runs batted-in with 20.

Turning to the football scene, we head to the Norman Broaster Stadium for Saturday’s shootout between Adventures FC and Quintas in the Cayo 1st Division Competition. Some half an hour in, Joel Guzman deals to Nigel Carbajal who finds the far corner against goalkeeper, George Cocom and Adventures FC goes up 1-zip. 10 minutes later, Gareth Bermudez dances his way past the Adventures keeper who takes him down inside the box and the referee rightly rules penalty, plus the keeper is ejected. Cyril Simmons steps and makes it look easy as he ties the ballgame at 1 apiece. So we go to the 2nd half and Quintas look to take the lead as Byron Gonzalez looks to center across the goal when Adventures keeper punches it out to Gareth Bermudez whose header should have been better. At the other end, Joel Guzman finds Dennis Pinelo who powers this right foot over the crossbar. On this press, Quintas look for the Win when Gilbert Carillo unleashes this potent right foot that only goes to prove that sometimes the horizontal bar is a goalkeeper’s best friend as the game concludes in a 1-1 draw.

In international football news, the format for the 2018 World Cup Qualifier should be set in March and June 2015. The UNCAF draw will be staged at Miami on February 5th and our national team should begin preparing today.

In cycling news, yesterday’s weekend warriors race travelled for 50 miles from Leslie’s Imports to the Northern Highway and turned at the Boom Road junction as it heads to Hattieville. And here’s that turn featuring a three-man lead enjoying only about a 5 seconds advantage. At the Hattieville junction, the 3-man lead of Shelton Graham, Daniel Cano and Kent Gabourel remain on the pace with the chase bunch still in the hunt. We fast forward to the finish line and it is Kent “Bob” Gabourel of Benny’s Megabytes grabbing the Win uncontested in 02:16:50. Shelton Graham rolls in on a solo flight for 2nd. Daniel Cano of Digicell 4G is 3rd and then Warren Coye of Santino’s and Glen Mehia of FT Williams round out the top 5 in that order respectively.

In the B Class, 40 miler, Salvador Alvarado of FT Williams emerged with top honors; Santino Castillo pulled up 2nd and Mike Phillios of Santino’s round out the top 3. In the C Class, the win went to Ingmar Perera of Stationery House/Medina’s; Camile Solis finished 2nd and Glen Sheppard of Big Blade, 3rd.


Jah over all, I’m James Adderley.

Viewers please note: This Internet newscast is a verbatim transcript of our evening television newscast. Where speakers use Kriol, we attempt to faithfully reproduce the quotes using a standard spelling system.

Advertise Here

You must be logged in to post a comment Login