Belize - Belize News - - Great Belize Productions - Belize Breaking News
Home » Sports » Sports Monday with Award Winning Sportscaster, James Adderley
Aug 25, 2014

Sports Monday with Award Winning Sportscaster, James Adderley

Good evening I’m James Adderley and this is Sports Monday.


We begin with game 1 of the 3 game Championship series for the Firm’s Division title. We pick up the action in the 4th quarter with Belize Bank/Airport down 8 points to Complex. Cassian Flowers comes up with loose ball off this broken play and he strikes for 2 of his 16 game points. Meanwhile we’re not sure if the Bank/Airport Domingo Guzman called bank here but it is good for 3. Guzman would finish with 12 points. The Complex lead is down to 6. Bank/Airport needs a steal right here instead they give Raphael O’Brien this open look and he delivers. Complex goes on to post the 73 – 63 big W to take game 1. Stand out for Complex with the game high, Rhelton Belisle with 26 points. For Belize Bank/Airport Tarique Gabb put up 18 points and Chris McGawn was the only player with double digit rebounds as he chaired the board.

Turning to the football scene, we caught up with Game 2 of the CYDP football finals inside the MCC Grounds. First things first though – on Saturday Tut Bay doubled North Side 2 to 1 which put North Side in a must win situation when the whistle started the hostilities yesterday. Immediately Tut Bay looks to continue where they left off with this set piece launch from outside the box that forces a monster save from goalkeeper Jaheed Mia. However its North Side that opens the scoreboard when Kadeem Myers lead out Clinton Gill who slices the ball past goalkeeper Kevin Alvarez for the 1 – zip lead. Two minutes later Delroy “Thin man” Andrews gets the call for the penalty kick and he ties the ballgame at one a piece. Tut Bay forges ahead off this set piece that finds Brian Martinez whose header crashes into the net. North Side FC comes right back to tie the ballgame at 2 apiece when Darrel Myvette raises over the crowd to skull this ball into the net. And then Jerod Ottley unleashes this spot kick which gives North Side the 3 – 2 lead. Clinton Gill gets the chance to make it a 4 – 2 lead on this breakaway only to waste it on a high riser. Gill does make amends and while we don’t have the goal we caught the celebration as North Side makes it a 4 – 2 score and have a 1 goal mathematical going down the home stretch. As Chronix says here comes trouble here come the danger.

With about 2 minutes to go Brian Martinez dances inside the 18 and gets the chance to fire the left foot that makes it a 4 – 3 final score with both teams tied at 5 goals apiece from 2 outings. Dalton Cayetano gets the chance to win it for the Tut Bay but good defense from goalkeeper Jaheed Mia and full back Darrel Myvette denies him that goal. After a scoreless overtime we go to the penalty spot for the decision. Delroy “Thin man” Andrews is 1st up and he delivers. Jerod Ottley disappoints his fans by applying for a pilot license. Albert Thurton makes it look easy as he converts. Clinton Gill shows form but lacks the touch to get the ball past Brian Martinez now in goal for Tut Bay. Mark Grant comes up with the conversion. So it’s up to Kadeem Myers to keep the action going and he simply misses the target. Tut Bay is the CYDP Champion and we say congratulations.  In other football news play in the F.F.B. President’s Cup saw Sagitun FC blank Roaring Creek United 2 – zip and San Antonio FC and Progresso FC battled to a 2 – 2 draw. In the F.F.B. Women President’s Cup yesterday Toledo Girls downed Dangriga Pumas 4 – 3 while Sugar City Girls edge Antonio by the same score.

In Billiards news, the Belikin 8-Ball National Tournament kicks off on August 30th and 31st at Hodes’ Place San Ignacio game time on both days is 9 A.M. so get busy.

In closing folks we play catch up with the Weekend Warriors race #4 which ran for 40 miles from Rockville Junction to Busman Arnold and we find some 25 riders blasting off from the starting point. They all might have started together but on the stretch to the finish line it’s all Mark Gentle of FT Williams who has brought no prisoners. He skins in jubilation with a teammate and then crosses the finish line in a time of 1 hour 54 minutes 15 seconds to claim top honors in unchallenged fashion. Stephen Bisset of BNE rolls in uncontested for 2nd place. Eric Burns of Scotia Bank takes 3rd place while Robert Mariano pedals into 4th place and Colin Mahia rounds out the top 5. Ray Cattouse of Stationery House/Medina’s outlasted Matthew Hughes of Big Blade to win the B Class, Kaya Cattouse tolls ion for 3rd place, Clarence Tesecum is 4th and Isaiah Williams rounds out the top 5. Dennis McKoy of Truckers Posse took top honours in the C Class with Manuel Esquiliano 2nd and Glen Shepherd 3rd. Meanwhile folks we applaud the Joslin Chavarria Cycling Club for making the sport more accessible to the youth of the day. In yesterdays back to school 8 mile race Joel Vanegas win the 13 to 17 category with Shane Codd 2nds and Fred Parden 3rd.  Derrick Chavarria takes the 10 to 12 category unchallenged. Gian Lovell settles for 2nd place and Taylen Gentle finishes in 3rd place.

Just before we go we’d just like to tell you that from over 200 entries the Caribbean Broadcasting Union determined that our 1 hour recap of the 85th Annual Cross Country Cycling Classic was best Sports Documentary for the year 2013. We thank our 2013 Champion Darnell Barrow for giving us the motivation and you the fans for supporting Sports Monday.


Jah over all, I’m James Adderley.

Viewers please note: This Internet newscast is a verbatim transcript of our evening television newscast. Where speakers use Kriol, we attempt to faithfully reproduce the quotes using a standard spelling system.

Advertise Here

Leave a Reply