Belize - Belize News - - Great Belize Productions - Belize Breaking News
Home » Sports » San Pedro Tigersharks win NEBL Championship
Jun 23, 2014

San Pedro Tigersharks win NEBL Championship

In the National Elite Basketball League, 2 games were played over the weekend. In game 2 o the finals, Western Ballaz tied the series 1-1 beating Tigersharks 74-67 forcing a 3rd game to decide the champions. Richard Troyer lead the Western Ballaz with 29 pts, 15 rebounds followed by Farron Louriano and Kurt Burgess with 16 pts each. For the Tigersharks, Winston Pratt scored 19 pts followed by Micahel Adams with 12 pts. In the championship game played in San Pedro, let’s jump straight into the fourth quarter of the action.

Darwin Leslie tries to drive to the rim, spins on Johan Bermudez and temporarily loses possession when Farron Louriano gets a hand on it. Leslie regains possession and passes to Michael Adams. Adams goes to the rim and misses. It is Ashton Edwards with the rebound and one as he is fouled by Johan Bermudez. Edwards goes to the line and sinks the free throw. Here we see Edwards again coming off the screen set for him by Leslie as he lays this one up for 2 of his game high 22 pts. The Tigersharks seemed to have been playing a fast passing game. Leslie to Edwards, Edwards to Penland, Penland to Adams as he tries to smash this one, but didn’t quite get it right. Meanwhile, on the other side of the court, Ivan Flowers bounce passes this one to Louriano; Louriano goes to the rim and Michael Adams comes up with this big block for the Tigersharks. Looks clean to me, but the referee blows foul on Adams. Louirano goes to the line for 2.

The Western Ballaz are in foul trouble…on this long pass to Edwards, Flowers fouls him and sends him to the line for 2. Edwards sinks both shots. Coming down to the last play of the game, Troyer gives this one away to Edwards. Ashton Edwards to Tyrone Edwards, Tyrone to Adams and Adams with the big dunk. The Tigersharks fans go wild. National Elite Basketball League Champions are the San Pedro Tigersharks winning the final game 60-52 over the Cayo Western Ballaz.

Turning to the football scene, the Smart Mundialito Tournament….In Game 1, Akeem Sutherland scored 2 goals for City Boys giving them a 2-1 win over London Strikers. Kalli Cho scored for London Strikers. Game 2 saw Collet Strikers and Ladyville Jaguars playing to a 1-1 draw. Michael Palacio scored for Collet Strikers and D-jon Canelo scored for Ladyville. In game 3, Heights FC held Charlston FC to a 0-0 draw. 3rd World and Hattieville also played to a 0-0 draw in the 4th game. In game 5, Dion Cacho scored 2 goals for Smart Brown Bombers giving them a 2-1 win over Rising Starts; Camryn Lozano scored for Rising Stars.

In cycling news, the Weekend Warriors Club held its 5th Annual 2-Day Tour. Stage 1 was on Friday morning starting at Belize Bank north side to Leslie’s Imports via the Boom Road. Stage 2 was a 12 mile individual time trial and stage 3 was the hill stage from Belmopan to St. Margaret’s Village and return to Belmopan. The overall tour winners after 3 stages…Wayne Arnold took top honors in category C followed by Curtis Bradley, Lawrence Craig and Joseph Abraham for 2nd, 3rd and 4th respectively. In category B, Jim Scott was 1st followed by Ray Cattouse in 2nd place. 3rd place went to Isaiah Willacey, 4th place was Kaya Cattouse and in 5th place was Edwardo Villanueva. Sean Howard took top honor in category A followed by Daniel Cano in 2nd place. Beat Brunschweiler in 3rd then Warren Coye and Robert Mariano in 4th and 5th place respectively.

The Anglican Diocese of Belize hosted their 1st Annual Criterium on the Albert and Regent Street Circuit. Taking top honors in the “kids Under 12 Category” was Evander McCollough. 2nd place went to Chauney Broaster and 3rd was Jayden Forbes. Winner of the High School female race was Jaime Muschamp. In the high school mountain/coaster bikes race, Sheldon Lynch was 1st followed by Micahel Bradley and Troy Rodriguez for 2nd and 3rd respectively. High school racer bikes category was won by Patrick Williams. 2nd place went to Darien Anderson and 3rd was Stephen Gabourel. Meg Payton-Jones took top honors in the Adult Female Category. Sandra Arnold was 2nd and 3rd place went to Jaimie Muschamp. In the 5th race of the day, Weekend Warriors classic C, Santino Chief Castillo took 1st place followed by Manuel Esquiliano and Frank “Butta” Ferguson for 2nd and 3rd place respectively. Steve Gill was 4th and 5th place went to Francis Cassasola.

Weekend Warriors Calss B went to Barney Brown completing 20 laps in 55 mins 35 secs. Ray Cattouse was 2nd. He said the older he gets the better he gets. Jim Scott took 3rd place followed by Isaiah Willacey and Albert Conorquie for 4th and 5th respectively. Sean took top honors in class A followed by Kent Gabourel in 2nd place. Wilbert Jones was 3rd, Ken Gladden was 4th and Robert Mariano was 5th. I caught up with the 2nd place finisher. For the main event of day, the Elite race, 30 guys lined up to complete a total of 30 laps. The early break was comprised of 5 guys from 4 different teams: Byron Pope, Brandon Cattouse, brothers Giovanni and Greg Lovell, and Henry Morriera. On the final lap, it came down to a sprint between 3 of the fastest guys in the country. First place went to Brandon Cattouse, 2nd place was Greg Lovell and 3rd place went to Byron Pope.


That’s it for this weekend’s sports. Thank you for watching Sports Monday; I’m Kaya Cattouse.

Viewers please note: This Internet newscast is a verbatim transcript of our evening television newscast. Where speakers use Kriol, we attempt to faithfully reproduce the quotes using a standard spelling system.

Advertise Here

You must be logged in to post a comment Login